I read in Cleveland/ Dan Nielsen writes in Wisconsin

Yo Fam,
I have done nearly no readings lately, but I am really excited to be going to Ohio soon to do two next week.  Here is the info for one, at John Caroll University.  My poetry hero Phil metres is hosting it, and I get to read with another writer and publisher I have mad love for, Matvei Yankelevich:

Nick Demske and Matvei Yankelevich

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

    • 7:00pm in EDT
  • Join us for two dynamite poets… who will detonate your mind.
    Rodman Hall A, John Carroll Universit

And here’s info for the reading right after that, which I get to do with another killer, rather insane writer, Frank Giampietro:

    • Thursday, October 11, 2012
    • 7:30pm until 9:30pm in EDT
      Cleveland State University Student Center Room 313/315, 2121 Euclid Ave, Cleveland OH 44115
      Please join the Cleveland State University Poetry Center for an evening of poetry with Nick Demske and Frank Giampietro.

      This event is free and open to the public.

      So go to those, if you’re anywhere near Cleveland.
      **************
      One other thing I wanted to post–Dan Nielsen, a writer who lives here in my fine city of Racine Wisconsin, has been writing and publishing like a fiend lately, and I just wanted to share the most recent thing I read of his.  It’s a short short called “Frozen Pizza,” published by the online mag Frostwriting.  It takes nanoseconds to read.  It, indeed, made me laugh out loud.  But, while all of Dan’s writing is really strong with humor, it’s also always really sad and simple and strange.  So go into the story having impossibly high expectations.  Thank you.
      Here’s a video of Dan reading in the BONK! series I help run:
      And I highly suggest buying his chapbook, which is mentioned in his bio there, below Frozen Pizza.  It’s really great, takes about ten minutes to read and is somewhere in between Basho and a 21st century Henny Youngman.  Weird, hilarious, twisted little snippet poem jokes.  It’s great.  One of my favorite chapbooks of the last few years.
      Okay, see you in Cleveland.
      Love,
      nick
Leave a Reply

