Video from Midwest Small Press Fest reading/ You Are Jaguar

Don’t say I never gave you nothin’.  Or at least don’t say Russel Jaffe never gave you nothin’.  Enjoy:

Speaking of Jaffe, check this blog post he put up a while ago.  Which is way too long for any reasonable person to read completely.  But still–he says lots of interesting things, says some incredibly generous things about me and my work, gives praise to some of my heroes, like Joyelle McSweeney and Johannes Goransson, and, in general, Russel has a really enjoyable voice in his informal prose, in my opinion.  And he’s a killer poet.  On top of all that, he’s on fire for poetry right now, as a publisher, tourer, organizer of readings, etc.  He will go far, despite the world’s best attempts to resist him.

Also, last thing…

 

YOU ARE JAGUAR ***PRE-ORDER***

this is the cover of a new release, You are Jaguar, co-written by Ryan W. Bradley and a local cat here to Racine, David Tomaloff.  I’m really excited to check out this book…it’s an interesting concept that, if done well, sounds like it could be very unique among the contemporary poetry collections that I’ve encountered.  For more info, take a gander here.

So that’s what’s up.  In other news, I just finished Anthony Madrid’s fabulous I am Your Slave Now Do What I Say for the first time in final published form.  Also, I am reading Joyelle McSweeney’s new book, Percussion Grenade, which is just a gift from beyond.  I devoted an hour to reading a one page poem in it today, and I will read it again tomorrow.  She compares a carton of rotting blueberries to meth-mouth.  She is a shaman.  I said this in an e-mail to her today: “your book is gutting me.  resensitizing me.”  I don’t know what more I could say about that.

Okay, go write something genius now.  Love,

Nick

Leave a Reply

