Dorthea Lasky’s Emily D and the World Congress of Poets in Kenosha

I recently read Dorthea Lasky’s latest book, Black Life.  When I couldn’t sleep yesterday night, I decided to revisit it and now you get this.  Enjoy:

Speaking of videos that will change your life, here’s something I can’t believe I haven’t mentioned yet: an event called the World Congress of Poets is happening like this and/or next week in Kenosha, WI, 15 minutes from where I live in Racine.  This group is wild.  You’ve got to check them out.  I want to say this is their 31st (?) annual event.  They meet all over the world and, for whatever reason this year, chose Kenosha.  Incredible.

This is, however, the only reason why we have the great fortune of hosting Aafa Michael Weaver at the BONK! series this Saturday, which rocks.  Anyways, one of my favorite things to come out of the Congress (and I have many favorite things at this point), is the music video they made for their 31st annual event’s theme song.  It is your lucky day, because I now post that below.  I dare you not to look further into this group after you watch this.  Simply awe inspiring.  This video has been viewed 180 as of my posting, but I’m sure I was at least 170 of those:

You now have permission to openly weep.  Life is good.

Leave a Reply

