Demske Interview, CA Conrad & chapbook contest and a new Rabbit Light

Yo.

I woke up at 5:30 today and have been kayaking in lake michigan since.  There’s a triathalon on the Racine shore today.  It’s pretty cool.  But the lake itself is still just so much cooler.

a pun.

So there’s a new interview I did up at  The Nervous Breakdown site.  All the questions came from social network friends who were kind enough to contribute.  A few rockin’ writers chimed in, but many of them are just personal friends of mine.  So check that out.

I wanted to post some info I got from CA Conrad, too, about a chapbook contest he’s judging.  He’s a killer poet, so I look forward to reading whomever he picks.  Here;s the message from Conrad:

I’ve been invited to judge the Mad Hatters’ poetry chapbook contest.  This is the first time I’ve ever done such a thing, but I can assure you that it will be fair, and that I will read all of the manuscripts.
IT’S VERY IMPORTANT that no one EVER contact ME for information about this contest in order to keep things completely fair.  Instead please email the editors with questions at: press@madhatarts.com
Submission guidelines, entry fee, and WHERE to submit can be found at this link:  http://madhattersreview.com/blog/archives/190
Thanks so much, and IF YOU ENTER and I don’t pick your manuscript I understand you hating me.  That sucks.
Most sincerely,
CAConrad”
And last thing–there’s a new episode of Joshua Marie Wilkinson’s Rabbit Light movies online now.  I’m really into it.  I’m pretty into video of poets reading in general, but this is definitely one of my favorite journals.  So browse around there, too.  And check out the trailer (in the notes) for Zachary Schomburg’s “feautre-length tour film” of a bunch of poets from around the country reading their work.  It looks like a really great video.  I’m excited to see the end result.
In the meantime, here’s two of the video from the journal.  One of Carrie Olivia Adams and one of Quraysh Ali Lansana, two monsters of midwest poetry.

Quraysh Ali Lansana from joshuamarie on Vimeo.

Carrie Olivia Adams from joshuamarie on Vimeo.

Alright.  Time to go back to sleep.  Sweet Dreams.  Uh, to me, I guess.
Leave a Reply

